Coordinates: 40°44′N111°55′W / 40.733°N 111.917°W / 40.733; -111.917Glendale is a neighborhood on the West side of Salt Lake City, Utah. Glendale is South of the Rose Park, Fair Park, and Poplar Grove neighborhoods. The neighborhood was originally developed as Glendale Gardens which is where Glendale Middle School derives its name. Mountain View Elementary (next to Glendale Middle School) was originally named Glendale Elementary.
Glendale, and neighboring Poplar Grove, Fair Park, & Rose Park enjoy a vibrant multi ethnic environment. Residents of Glendale enjoy the community's diversity, friendliness, pride in community, and authenticity of fellow residents. Those who live in Glendale also cite it as affordable, and conveniently close to local schools, parks, the airport, and downtown Salt Lake City.
The Glendale neighborhood is the area west of Interstate 15 to the western Salt Lake City boundary. Glendale's southern edge borders the City of South Salt Lake at SR-201 and extends North to approximately 950 S. North of Glendale is Poplar Grove. Both neighborhoods make up most of zip code 84104 and are within Salt Lake City Council District 2.
Glendale was a Long Island Rail Road station along the Lower Montauk Branch, located at Edsall Avenue and 73rd Street, near Cooper Avenue, at the All Faiths Monuments factory for the Queens Lutheran Cemetery in Glendale, Queens. This station had two "platforms" (which were actually just strips of pavement besides the tracks) and two tracks.
It opened around June 1869 (although some sources claim it was built in 1868) and contained a small station house along the eastbound tracks. Nearby freight service included such companies as American Grass Twine Works, and Prairie Grass Furniture Company. Trains from the Rockaway Beach Branch also served the station prior to that line's connection with the LIRR Main Line. In January 1927 due to decreasing ridership, the LIRR razed the station and months later the name was moved to a new station at Metropolitan Avenue on the Rockaway Beach Branch on September 15, 1927. The name would last for over a month until it was changed to Parkside Station on October 23, 1927, and Glendale was returned to the Montauk Branch as a wooden sheltered shed along the westbound tracks by 1928. The wooden shed was replaced by corrugated iron during World War II.
Veganism is both the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, and an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of animals. A follower of veganism is known as a vegan.
Distinctions are sometimes made between several categories of veganism. Dietary vegans (or strict vegetarians) refrain from consuming animal products, not only meat but also eggs, dairy products and other animal-derived substances. The term ethical vegan is often applied to those who not only follow a vegan diet but extend the philosophy into other areas of their lives, and oppose the use of animal products for any purpose. Another term is environmental veganism, which refers to the avoidance of animal products on the premise that the harvesting or industrial farming of animals is environmentally damaging and unsustainable.
The term vegan was coined in 1944 by Donald Watson when he co-founded the Vegan Society in England, at first to mean "non-dairy vegetarian" and later "the doctrine that man should live without exploiting animals." Interest in veganism increased in the 2010s; vegan stores opened, and vegan options became available in more supermarkets and restaurants in many countries.
Wine is sometimes finished with animal products. Specifically, finings used to remove organic impurities and improve clarity and flavour include several animal products, including casein, albumen, gelatin and isinglass.
Wineries might use animal-derived products as finings. To remove proteins, yeast, and other organic particles which are in suspension during the making of the wine, a fining agent is added to the top of the vat. As it sinks down, the particles adhere to the agent, and are carried out of suspension. None of the fining agent remains in the finished product sold in the bottle, and not all wines are fined.